App Store Carboeiro 
The weather in Silleda

In the morning

In the afternoon

Courtesy of Meteogalicia
Follow us: Siguenos en facebookSiguenos en Twiter
Home -> History

The Land of Trasdeza

The Candán mountain range, the forest of Chamor, San Sebastián de Meda and the rivers Ulla and Deza define the limits of Silleda council within the region of Deza, in the province of Pontevedra.

Its surface area is 169 km2 divided into thirty-three parishes, with very different nomenclatures, but it is worth noting the case of San Martiño, patron saint of five parishes, San Miguel and Santa María, four, and San Salvador three. Another curious footnote is the fact that, although belonging to the Archpriestric of Trasdeza and the Archdiocese of Santiago, the parishes of Cira and Dornelas belong to the Bishopric of Lugo.

The majority of these parishes appear as forming part of the Jurisdiction of Trasdeza, I n the seventeenth century, which in turn belonged to the province of Santiago. In this jurisdiction were 25 of the current parishes. The others formed part of the Jurisdictions of Cira, Carboeiro and Camanzo. On the contrary, Parada was part of Deza and Refoxos that of the Couto of Acibeiro.

In answer to the third question of the Ensenada land registry general survey, the boundaries appear very clear, when it states that "bordering on the East with the jurisdiction of Tabeirós, to the North with the Couto de Carboeiro, and to the South with the jurisdiction of Montes." Trasdeza was until the beginning of the 19th century one of the easternmost boundaries of the province of Santiago, bordered on the east by the river Deza and the province of Lugo, where the jurisdiction of the same name began, and in these lands the influence of the Archbishopric of Santiago and the Diocese of Lugo separated.

The name of Trasdeza  is mentioned in the High Middle Ages and the parish of Santa María of Cortegada in Trasdeza, is cited in documents of that period.

In the seventeenth century (1645), the Archbishopric of Trasdeza appears as an ecclesiastical title, subject to the Archdeacon of Deza, and the diocese of Lugo.